Quaint

The quiet little town of Sagada in Mountain Province was my first out-of-town trip which I lovingly documented with my then-serious-now archaic-but-still-gets-the job-done mobile phone.

It was in February 2013 when some friends and I joined a three-day package tour to explore some rice paddies, waterfalls and yogurt. We slept through an eight-hour long and winding drive in a van that reeked of soiled socks and brake fluid. When we arrived in the morning, our trip provider looked for a transient house for us while we sleepily took off to take photos. The first day was a tour of the town’s old churches, houses, narrow roads, stone table and little cafes.

IMG_3036

Town Sagada 2

Cafe Sagada

The next two days was pure adventure and a whole lot of walking. We had the privilege of walking along the well-tended pilapils of the mini rice terraces along the way to Bomod-Ok Falls and we got bat droppings on our hair inside Sumaguing Cave.

Sagada Trek
Bomod-Ok Falls, Sagada

This Php 2,900++ package tour was the journey that spurred my interest in travel. It made me want to see more of the Philippines. It moved me to share how much beauty there is in my country. It made me crave for more mountains, more blues and greens, more sunsets, more colors and more life.

Town Sagada

It made me realize that as Filipinos, we should all try exploring Pilipinas muna, because really…

“It’s funny how you can live somewhere your whole life, but not really see it.”

Kami Garcia, Beautiful Creatures

Leave a Reply

